Shakira – Tour of the Mongoose 2003

Shakira-Tour-Of-The-Mongo-427683Date: 11-May-2003.

City: Caracas, Venezuela.

Venue: Caracas’ Polyhedron Arena Parking Lot.

Set List:

01. Intro/Ojos Así
02. Si Te Vas
03. Inevitable
04. Ciega, Sordomuda
05. ¿Dónde Están Los Ladrones?
06. Dude (Looks Like A Lady)
07. Back In Black
08. Rules
09. Underneath Your Clothes
10. Estoy Aquí
11. Octavo Día
12. Ready For The Good Times
13. Un Poco De Amor
14. Te Dejo Madrid
15. Tú
16. Te Aviso, Te Anuncio (Tango)
17. Suerte (Whenever, Wherever)

Review/Experience:

My second attendance to a big concert. I’ve never been a big fan of Shakira, but I always liked her music. I remember that my friend Gabriela convinced me to go, she was like: “Please, come! You’ll enjoy”, and the tickets weren’t that expensive either. So I went with her to the Sambil Mall and bought the “general” ones.

The day of the concert, Gaby and her dad picked me up at my house and went to the CCCT Mall, where there were many buses that was taking people to the venue: The Parking Lot of the Poliedro.

Gaby and I arrived approximately at 6 pm if I’m not mistaken. There were many people around. We bought some drinks and sat on the cement floor to wait until the show began. Then a DJ began to spin some music and they had this huge TV screen projecting commercials and suddenly they showed my ultimate favorite singer: Madonna. But why get excited? They showed her like 3 seconds and that was it.

Anyways, the opening band was “Caramelos de Cianuro” whom I TOTALLY HATE! and during their performance, things got messy. We were standing in the general area which was the furthest away from the stage and the sound was AWFUL, we couldn’t hear anything, in addition to that, there were railings that separated our area from the next one: the preferential area, which WASN’T full at all! There was like 25 empty meters between us and the people who were in the preferential, so all of us got really mad.

But what I didn’t know was that there were people who actually wanted to do something, and they did. Many began to beat the railings to remove them and fill those empty 25 meters of the preferential area. Suddenly, there was a HUGE riot, so huge that the security people came and began to drop us Tear-Bombs!!! Everyone began to ran away, my friend and myself included. Minute later, after drinking water, smoking my cigarette, we tried to get to the venue again.

When we got closer, we noticed people running and jumping over the railings! Gaby and I ran as fast as we can before the security guards would approach. We jumped through the railing and were in the preferential area, and 20 meters close to the stage! 😀

So finally the lights went off and the tour has begun! A big snake lift from the stage and Shakira appeared singing the people’s favorite Arabian themed song “Ojos Así”. She sang and dance, the show was AMAZING. She had a video interlude of politicians playing chess which was the world, very political inspired, just like Madonna! Also, there were some songs I didn’t know but I enjoyed it overall. At the end, a bunch of confetti’s were thrown and with the Caracas’ show, the 1 year tour was over! We were the last date in her schedule.

Gaby and I luckily got the LAST bus that was going back to the CCCT Mall! And then, her dad drove me home.

logodegira

YouTube link for the “Ojos Así” performance (starts at 2:20):

Leave a Reply

